The 6th Brazil School for Single-Particle Cryo-EM 2014

As a graduate student doing an EM project in a non-EM lab I had spent a few months searching for a good course that would focus on what I needed to learn. I already had experience preparing samples and collecting data, but I was a novice when it came to data processing and analysis. The Brazil School’s focus on single particles seemed perfect for what I needed in order to move forward with my project.

After 20 hours of traveling from Seattle, I arrived at the São Paulo airport and found the rest of the group, who were being chaperoned by our designated liaison Roosevelt. Roosevelt immediately made us feel at ease and comfortable, while facilitating introductions and conversations between the students. We all piled into a large passenger van and began the bumpy and curvy two-hour drive to the village of Socorro. I had no idea what to expect, other than that Socorro was small and rural. The drive was scenic, and as we watched out the window, we began to see São Paulo city fade away and we transitioned into farmland and forest. It was winter in Brazil, so temperatures were actually quite cold when we first arrived (~14˚C). The hotel in Socorro had no heating in the rooms, but they did provide extra blankets that were more than enough to keep us warm in the evening.

As someone who is fairly shy around new people, I greatly appreciated the effort that the instructors and organizers made to facilitate interactions. I learned that the other students came from a variety of backgrounds - from new graduate students learning the basics of EM, to faculty with expertise in crystallography who were interested in bringing EM techniques to bear on their research projects. The small course size, together with the concentrated instruction, allowed the participants and organizers to see each other not just as colleagues, but as friends.